>Mercury Music Prize nominees

>The nominees for this years Mercury Prize have been announced and are as follows:

Biffy Clyro – ‘Only Revolutions’
Corinne Bailey Rae – ‘The Sea’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Tongue N’ Cheek’
Kit Downes Trio – ‘Golden’
Foals – ‘Total Life Forever’
I Am Kloot – ‘Sky At Night’
Laura Marling – ‘I Speak Because I Can’
Mumford And Sons – ‘Sigh No More’
Paul Weller – ‘Wake Up The Nation’
Villagers – ‘Becoming A Jackal’
Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’
The xx – ‘XX’

Obviously VN will be backing Dizzee to win (disco, disco, disco,) for his album of grimey genius. Having seen him in action at the Capital Summertime Ball this year, he can certainly pull it off live too. The inclusion of Corrine Bailey Rae is also notable, given the tragic loss of her husband mere months ago it is nice to see such a talented singer back on top form. Paul Weller also features for the first time, showing that the King of rock’n’roll reinvention has still got it.

VN can’t get too worked up by  the yawnfest of Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons, or Foals, but given their popularity they all have a good chance of taking home the prize!

The winner of the Mercury Music Prize will be announced on September 7th.


One Comment to “>Mercury Music Prize nominees”

  1. >I love Laura Marling's work, its so interesting! I saw her live back in 2008, she's utterly magical! (Corrine Bailey Rae's husband also died back in 2008, it was the album that was released months ago in dedication to him…)Dizzee Rascel has already won so boo to him, I'mfor Laura Marling all the way!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: