>My memories of 7/7

>I have read quite a few pieces on peoples’ memories of the terrorist attacks in London 5 years ago, and it got me thinking back to my memories of that day:

I was only 17 at the time, still at school. When we first started getting reports I heard that there had just been a massive power surge on the Tube. It become apparent quite quickly that this was not the case. In the panic of the first bit of news coming through everyone’s concern was to find out where the bombs had gone off, and if their friends and family members were alright.

My father works in the city, and so I was immediately concerned. Normally he would have been long in his office, but July 7th happens to be his birthday, and I think he had gone in a bit later. I couldn’t get through, and immediately began to panic as I heard reports that bombs had gone off in the area near his office.  I eventually found out all was fine, but it was a horrible period of time.

As the day progressed, at every available opportunity students would go upstairs to the music department, the only part of school that had a television with signal. It was utterly surreal that the scenes unfolding like a apocalypse day film on the television where happening just down the road. The school I went to is on Highgate High Street, which happens to have both a massive hospital, and be a key entry point into the City. All day we could here the drone of sirens as ambulances and police cars flew down the Holloway Road and into the chaos.

That evening my mother, my sisters, and I went to the edge of the City to pick up Dad who was stranded  because the tube had been shut down. I have never been more pleased to see him d in my life! The scene that greeted us at Old Street roundabout was odd. It didn’t really look any different, like nothing had happened. People were trying to carry on, but knew London life would never quite be the same again. The 7/7 mortuary was set up nearby soon after.

I don’t normally use the blog for things like this, but today it seems only right to remember.

Leave a Reply

